Death and Life beyond. A homage to Mrs. Praveena Devarajan

June 11, 2007 at 8:42 am | Posted in life | 5 Comments

There are very few people who would be ready to dedicate a life of service to make this world a better place to be. Even fewer who could shower an electric power to form a better way in the minds untamed. Now imagine a conglomerate of these souls. Imagine a land, not much different from all that around, except for an atmosphere that beckons the genius within. Imagine the careful artistists painting the canvas of the unformed, with vibrant colors of confidence, love, power and passion. Imagine PSBB.

When I think back, as I often do, i cannot but shudder at the thought of what i might have been, had my dad decided to throw me elsewhere. And the fond memories come rushing back.

Mrs.Praveena Devarajan was a pillar. Strict disciplinarian, enforcer. Her stare alone could bore into you, make you feel the remorse for breaking that measuring glass. And yet, she was the embodiment of love. I have often wondered where they get the teachers from in PSBB. How could one possibly even hope to find hundreds of humans- more love and kindness, than flesh and bones. How could they have existed, beyond the pollutions of the world outside. Without spite or hate. Without favorites and partiality. And yet, they did. And PD was one of the greatest examples.

When Abhi called to give me the news a couple of days back, it was just that- news. But today, when I read Anand’s post, it all just seems to come tumbling back. There are very few people that this world would do better with than without- and unquestioningly, PD is one of them.

She taught us to love animals. I still hate chicken and pigs. She taught us to draw the Bio diagrams with a 2B pencil- first a thin outline, and then deeper. I still prefer to draw with a pen. She taught us not to swear. I hell do.
But she taught us more than just what she said. She taught me the power of love, and the meaningless nature of hate. She taught me that dedication and passion to what I do speaks louder than artistry and skill. She taught me to respect every life form, to emathize and feel the pain. She showed me that getting into someone’s head can only win an argument. She showed me the light to get where I should be.

I believe immortality does not mean never dying. I believe immortality is living even after material fatality. And in that PD will always live with each soul she happened to touch. Forever.

“Farewell, farewell! but this I tell
To thee, thou Wedding-Guest!
He prayeth well, who loveth well
Both man and bird and beast.

“He prayeth best, who loveth best
All things both great and small;
For the dear God who loveth us,
He made and loveth all. “

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Dear Vikram,
    Very true…I concur with all that you have said….PD lives on in her students da….I have been shedding tears every so often…and I don’t know what else I can say…you were fortunate to have been her student, and as you have correctly written, PSBB has exceptional teachers, and we chaps have lost one of the best…

    SARVAM SRIKRISHNAARPANAMASTHU!

  2. Our PSBB family, was one short of our surrogate mothers when Praveena ma’am left us..to go off into some other world..but there are somethings that r outside control…that we cannot do nething to prevent… She taught me for just 1 yr but bonding with her was so easy n comforting, twas like being with someone who cud guide u with strong but soft hands onto the right path always…. you’re absolutely right in that she’ll always be in our hearts…she’ll live on forever…

  3. She was my favorite, and she and I had fun chats outside of class. I didn’t know she died 😦

  4. Very nice. Too lazy to do this myself. Thank you.

  5. She was undoubtedly one of the best teachers I have ever had…I still vivdly remember soo many of her classes even though it has been around 3 years since she taught me….Her love for the subject was infectious…I certainly learnt o alot more than bio from her….

    so sad that there are many other students who don’t have the priviledge to be touched by her warmth.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

