Paintings and Posters

March 23, 2007 at 11:08 am | Posted in bong | 3 Comments

I just read an old blog of Suderman that speaks about the difference between a painting and a poster. Yes, both of these are just colors on the canvas. But while a poster aims at expressing an idea for people to understand in the first 5 seconds, a painting is an extension into the artist’s mind… It is not the aim of a painter that his creation be understood by all. It is his expression, his thought, his idea. Acceptance is hardly his claim.
A poster is just the opposite. An aim of a poster is not how creative the maker is. Yes, creativity is important. But a highly creative, beautiful poster often loses out to a plainer version, which transmits the message across.
I wouldn’t even know if that is a choice we make, or its just in-born. For a very long time, I took it below my self to just design a poster. I considered myself an artist. Ole’ Leo and Mike themselves.
All that mattered to me was I understood my words.
But when it comes to your monthly bread, posters rule the day. And that is where I figure that it is in fact my inability here. True, I write better than normal mortals. But since when did normal mortals even figure here? Amongst a sea of dedicated poster makers, I sometimes feel I’m lost out. Keep it short- Keep it simple- Don’t make me think- Cut out the Alliterations…
Finally we have an excellent poster, that makes me deserve the food I eat.
I need to de-stress. I sit, stretch out my canvas, and try to create my masterpiece.. And what I have is a crazy mix up between a poster and a painting (posting???)
And still I keep screaming… LOCK ME UP!!!!!!!!

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Nice way to show that u dont want to work on cheap things..

  2. ya.. even i feel this way lot of times. its just what kind of people you have around you that affects how well you can express

  3. Well, I’ll be sketching that..


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

